Christmas Day Trips From London: Oxford, Stonehenge, Bath And The Studio Tour

London keeps most of the festive attention, but three bookable day trips give the season a different shape: a Christmas-themed tour through Oxford, the Cotswolds and Stratford with lunch included, a year-round Stonehenge, Windsor and Bath circuit, and a full day at the Harry Potter studio while its snow season runs.

A thatched Cotswolds stone village street decorated with Christmas garlands

Short answer

Three day trips book well for the Christmas period. The Cotswolds Christmas tour runs 11 hours from $264 with lunch. Stonehenge, Windsor and Bath runs 11 hours from $106. The studio tour with branded bus runs 7.5 hours from $122, and the studio is closed 25 and 26 December.

London at Christmas is a dense, walkable season, but the city is not the whole story. Within a coach ride you can be standing in a Cotswolds village that looks assembled for a Christmas card, walking the stone circle at Stonehenge, or standing inside a snow-dusted Great Hall on the Harry Potter studio tour. This guide compares the day trips that are actually bookable from London over the festive period, what each one costs, how long each takes, and which of them run on 25 December itself, a day when most of the country's transport network is switched off.

The honest headline is that choice is narrower than the brochure racks suggest. The roster of bookable products on Christmas In London includes exactly one explicitly Christmas-themed day trip, the "Cotswolds Day Trip, Lunch Included" tour of Oxford, the Cotswolds and Stratford, plus a year-round Stonehenge, Windsor and Bath circuit and two Harry Potter studio options that run through the season. Everything else you may have read about, Bath's market, Canterbury, Leeds Castle, is either an event with no bookable ticket product here or a trip whose 2026 details have not been confirmed by its operator.

Which Day Trips From London Run Over The Christmas Season?

Three bookable day trips cover the festive period: a Christmas-themed Oxford, Cotswolds and Stratford tour with lunch (11 hours, from $264), a year-round Stonehenge, Windsor and Bath circuit (11 hours, from $106), and the Harry Potter studio tour with branded-bus transport (7.5 hours, from $122). A fourth option pairs the studio with a Thames cruise. All four run through December, with the studio closed on 25 and 26 December.

The "Cotswolds Day Trip, Lunch Included" listing is the one product on the roster whose own title frames it as a Christmas trip. It runs a long loop: Oxford, a stretch of Cotswolds villages, Stratford-upon-Avon, and a traditional Christmas lunch somewhere in the middle of it. At 11 hours it is a full-day commitment, leaving little room for anything else that day. It carries a 4.2 rating from only 9 reviews, a small pool, so treat the score as an early signal rather than a settled verdict.

The Stonehenge, Windsor and Bath trip is a different animal. It is a year-round day trip that happens to run through the Christmas season, and it should be described that way: three of England's most famous stops in one 11-hour circuit, rated 4.6 from 20,907 reviews, from $106 per person. One thing it is not: a Christmas market tour. Bath has a famous market, but this trip's listing does not include it, so do not book it expecting a market visit. If the market is the part of Bath you actually want, our guide to visiting the Bath Christmas Market on a day trip from London covers how to do it properly.

The studio options sit in the same tier, year-round products with a seasonal overlay. Hogwarts in the Snow runs from 14 November 2026 to 17 January 2027, and the snow-season extras are included in the standard timed-entry ticket, per the studio's own what's on page. What the branded-bus booking covers is the studio visit plus transport there and back; the listing does not spell out the snow extras, so the honest framing is that the ticket is for the studio with branded-bus transport while the snow season is running.

Day trip Tier Duration From price (USD) Rating and reviews
Cotswolds Day Trip, Lunch Included (Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford) Christmas-themed 11 hours $264 4.2 from 9 reviews
Stonehenge, Windsor and Bath Day Trip Year-round, runs through the season 11 hours $106 4.6 from 20,907 reviews
Harry Potter Studio, Branded Bus Year-round, runs through the season 7.5 hours $122 4.7 from 20,108 reviews
Studio Tour Plus Thames Cruise Year-round, runs through the season Not stated on the listing $112 4.8 from 995 reviews

What Actually Runs On Christmas Day Itself?

Christmas Day is the hardest day of the year to leave London: there is no Tube, no bus, no national rail and no coach station network to speak of, following last year's pattern, so the realistic options are a small set of pre-booked coach tours, the two Christmas Day river cruises, or staying put. The studio tour is closed 25 and 26 December, and the roster's Cotswolds and Stonehenge trips do not run on the 25th.

The transport fact comes first because it shapes everything else. In the 2025 pattern, Transport for London ran no Tube, bus, Elizabeth line, DLR, Overground or tram service on Christmas Day, and no national rail ran anywhere in the UK, an annual rule rather than a quirk. The 2026 festive timetable has not been published yet, so treat that as last year's pattern and check TfL in December. The TfL press release from last December is the reference to watch.

An empty London street on a quiet winter morning with a red bus in the distance

What does run is a handful of dedicated Christmas Day coach itineraries. The 2026 listings include a Christmas Day tour to Salisbury, Stonehenge and Bath with a traditional lunch, departing 8am and running about 11 hours, and a Christmas Day tour to Windsor, Oxford and Avebury with a three-course lunch, about 10.5 hours, both in the £199 adult band. A combined coach tour plus Thames lunch cruise from Victoria also runs on the 25th, about 6.5 to 7 hours. None of these are bookable through this site; they are listed here for context. If your plan is simply to be on a river on Christmas Day, the site's own Christmas Day cruise options are the two confirmed products, a 3.5-hour lunch cruise from $232 and a 1-hour sightseeing cruise from $43.

The roster's regular day trips pause. The Cotswolds Christmas tour and the Stonehenge circuit do not carry a stated 25 December departure, and the studio is shut on both 25 and 26 December. Boxing Day, a Saturday in 2026, is a different picture: reduced Sunday-style services ran in the 2025 pattern, and the studio reopens. If a day trip matters to your itinerary, the practical advice is to schedule it between 27 and 31 December, when services recover, or before the 24th.

Option on 25 December 2026 Status Notes
Cotswolds Christmas day trip (roster) Not stated to run No 25 Dec departure on the listing
Stonehenge, Windsor and Bath (roster) Not stated to run Year-round trip; no 25 Dec departure stated
Harry Potter studio tour Closed Closed 25 and 26 December
Christmas Day coach tours (Salisbury/Stonehenge/Bath, Windsor/Oxford/Avebury) Running per the 2026 listings Around £199 adult, 10.5 to 11 hours, lunch included
Christmas Day Thames cruises (roster) Running Lunch cruise 3.5 hours from $232; sightseeing cruise 1 hour from $43
Public transport Expected off, per last year's pattern Check TfL in December

Is The Oxford, Cotswolds And Stratford Christmas Trip Worth It?

For travellers who want a Christmas-themed day out with the logistics handled, it is the strongest single choice: an 11-hour loop through Oxford, Cotswolds villages and Stratford-upon-Avon with a traditional Christmas lunch included, from $264 per person. The trade-offs are a long day on a coach and a review pool of only 9, so the 4.2 rating is a thin sample rather than a verdict.

This is the only day trip here whose listing title puts Christmas in the frame. The route is the classic Christmas-card circuit: Oxford's colleges, a Cotswolds stretch of stone villages, and Stratford, Shakespeare's town. The lunch is included in the price, which matters on a day when half the pubs in a Cotswolds village are either booked out or shut between Christmas and New Year. At 11 hours it is the same length of day as the Stonehenge circuit, so the comparison between them is really about tone: Christmas villages and lunch versus ancient monuments and a spa city.

A stone Cotswolds cottage with a wreath on a wooden door

The honest caveats are the review count and the price. Nine reviews is a small pool; the trip is genuinely new to the roster's lineup, and the 4.2 reflects a handful of travellers rather than a crowd. At $264 it is the most expensive of the three core trips, more than double the Stonehenge circuit, and the premium buys the Christmas theming and the included lunch rather than a longer or grander day. Cancellation terms are not stated on the card, so check the live listing before booking if your dates might move. You can Check availability on the listing, and the site's wider Christmas day trip overview covers what else runs that week.

Stonehenge, Windsor And Bath: What The Year-Round Trip Gives You In December?

The Stonehenge, Windsor and Bath day trip is the value pick of the season: 11 hours, from $106, rated 4.6 from 20,907 reviews, and it runs through December as part of its year-round schedule. It is not a Christmas market tour and does not visit the Bath Christmas market, but December travellers get the same three stops with winter light and thinner crowds.

Three stops in one day is the pitch. Windsor Castle first, then the stone circle at Stonehenge, then Bath, with its Georgian terraces and the Roman Baths. The review pool is the largest of any product on the roster, 20,907 reviews, and the 4.6 score across that many travellers is a far more reliable signal than any small-pool rating on this page. The listing flags it as likely to sell out, which is standard for a high-volume year-round trip in peak weeks.

Stonehenge standing stones under a pale winter sky

The December framing needs care. This is a tier B product: a year-round tour that runs during the Christmas season, never a Christmas tour. Bath's Christmas market is real and famous, but the trip's listing does not include it, and the honest description is that you get Bath itself, with the market possibly happening around you depending on dates and time in town. If the market is the point of your trip, the site's dedicated Bath Christmas market day trip guide covers how to plan for it directly. Free cancellation applies per the listing, which softens the sell-out risk: book early, and you can still move the date.

Is Hogwarts In The Snow A Good Day Trip From London?

Yes, if the studio is on your list at all: the snow season runs 14 November 2026 to 17 January 2027, the festive extras are included in the standard timed ticket, and the branded-bus booking covers the 7.5-hour round trip from central London from $122. The studio is closed 25 and 26 December, so plan around those two days.

Hogwarts in the Snow is the studio's seasonal overlay: the Great Hall dressed for a Christmas feast, the castle model under snow, and new for 2026, festive Foley sound effects on the Backlot Stage, with Dinner in the Great Hall events on selected December dates. The studio's own page confirms the extras are included in the standard timed-entry ticket, so there is no separate snow-season upsell once you are inside.

A snowy castle model with miniature towers under studio lighting

Two roster products get you there. The "Harry Potter Studio, Branded Bus" option is the straightforward one: 7.5 hours, from $122, rated 4.7 from 20,108 reviews, with free cancellation per the listing. The "Studio Tour Plus Thames Cruise" pairing adds a river cruise and carries a 4.8 from 995 reviews, from $112; its listing states no single duration figure, so treat it as a full day. Both are year-round products with the snow season as an overlay, and both are flagged as likely to sell out, which in the studio's case is a real warning: snow-season weekends are among the attraction's busiest weeks of the year. The practical booking window is late November or early December midweek, or the first week of January, when the snow season runs but the holiday crowds have gone.

A paragraph on timing, because it decides the day. The branded-bus trip is 7.5 hours door to door, which means a central London morning departure and an early evening return, while the cruise pairing is looser and longer. Neither runs on 25 or 26 December. If you are combining the studio with anything else in London, treat it as the whole day's plan; the Hogwarts in the Snow guide covers the season in detail.

What Is Open And Closed On 25 December, And How Does It Change The Plan?

On Christmas Day the museums, the London Eye, the studio tour and Winter Wonderland are closed, the Royal Parks stay open and free, and the only river products running are the two Christmas Day cruises. The Natural History Museum is closed 24 to 26 December, the studio is closed 25 and 26, and Winter Wonderland is closed on the 25th only.

The closure list is long but knowable. The major museums, the British Museum, the V&A, the Science Museum, both Tates, the National Gallery, Tower Bridge Exhibition and the Churchill War Rooms, follow a 24 to 26 December closure pattern. Winter Wonderland, running 19 November 2026 to 3 January 2027, closes on Christmas Day only. Christmas at Kew's light trail is also closed on the 25th. Against that, the Royal Parks remain open and free, taxis and private hire operate, and Chinatown's restaurants and hotel dining rooms do the day's trade.

An open park path with bare winter trees and city buildings behind

For day-trip planning the pattern is simple: 25 December belongs to the dedicated Christmas Day coach tours and the river, 26 December is a reduced-service day, and 27 to 31 December is the sweet spot where the regular trips, the lights, the markets and the studio all run again. If your stay spans the 25th, the strongest structure is a booked Christmas Day cruise or coach tour, a quiet Boxing Day walk in a Royal Park, and a roster day trip in the final days of the year. The site's what to do at Christmas overview maps the full week.

Date in 2026 Day trips Notes
24 Dec (Thu) Cotswolds, Stonehenge and studio trips run TfL early finish per last year's pattern; Kew trail closes 9pm
25 Dec (Fri) Only dedicated Christmas Day coach tours and river cruises No public transport expected; studio and Wonderland closed
26 Dec (Sat) Studio reopens; reduced services Sunday-style TfL service per last year's pattern
27 to 30 Dec All roster day trips running Post-holiday sweet spot for the Cotswolds and Stonehenge circuits
31 Dec (Thu) All running, but plan around NYE Fireworks display starts 8pm; central London fills early

How Do You Choose Between The Three Trips?

Choose the Cotswolds Christmas trip for the themed day and the included lunch, from $264; choose Stonehenge, Windsor and Bath for value and the biggest review pool, from $106; choose the studio tour for a controlled indoor day that children will remember, from $122. If two adults are choosing one trip each on a week-long stay, the strongest pairing is the Stonehenge circuit early in the week and the studio on a midweek later date.

The decision usually comes down to who is travelling. Families with Harry Potter-aged children lean studio, and the 7.5-hour frame with transport included is easier than it sounds. Travellers who want the Christmas atmosphere of the season, villages, lunch, a slower pace, lean Cotswolds. Value hunters and first-time visitors who want the famous sights ticked lean Stonehenge, where 20,907 reviews tell you exactly what the day feels like. Solo travellers and couples who dislike coach tours entirely should skip all three and look at the Christmas walking tours instead, which stay in the city.

Comparison of the three Christmas day trips by price, duration and review count
The three core trips compared on from-price, duration and review pool size.
If you want... Book this Why
A Christmas-themed day with lunch included Cotswolds Day Trip, Lunch Included The roster's only tier A day trip; 11 hours, from $264
The most reviewed, best value full day Stonehenge, Windsor and Bath 4.6 from 20,907 reviews, from $106
A family day with the season built in Harry Potter Studio, Branded Bus Snow season included in the standard ticket; 7.5 hours, from $122
A studio day plus the river Studio Tour Plus Thames Cruise 4.8 from 995 reviews, from $112, no stated duration
To stay in London Christmas walking tours Small-group and themed walks from $52

One planning note that saves money and stress: book the studio first. Its listings are flagged as likely to sell out, the snow season concentrates demand into weekends, and the free-cancellation terms on both studio products mean an early booking costs you nothing to move. The Cotswolds trip has no stated cancellation terms, so leave that one until your dates are firm. The Stonehenge circuit carries free cancellation per the listing and a huge supply of departures, which makes it the flexible filler for whichever day opens up.

Common Questions About Christmas Day Trips From London

Can You Do A Day Trip From London On Christmas Day?

Only a small set of pre-booked coach tours run on 25 December, typically to Salisbury, Stonehenge and Bath or to Windsor, Oxford and Avebury, each with lunch included and each around 10.5 to 11 hours in the £199 adult band. Public transport does not run, following last year's pattern, so a regular tour ticket is not an option. The two Christmas Day Thames cruises on the roster also run.

Which Day Trip From London Is Best At Christmas?

For a Christmas-themed day, the Oxford, Cotswolds and Stratford trip with lunch included is the roster's dedicated option, 11 hours from $264. For value, the Stonehenge, Windsor and Bath circuit, from $106 with a 4.6 rating from 20,907 reviews, runs through the season. Families usually get the most from the Harry Potter studio tour while Hogwarts in the Snow runs.

Does The Stonehenge, Windsor And Bath Trip Visit The Bath Christmas Market?

No. It is a year-round day trip that runs during the Christmas season, and its listing does not include the Bath Christmas market. You visit Bath itself, with the market possibly in the background depending on dates, but the tour makes no market stop and no market time is promised.

Is The Harry Potter Studio Tour Open Over Christmas?

The studio is closed on 25 and 26 December 2026. Around those two days it runs its normal schedule, and the Hogwarts in the Snow season, 14 November 2026 to 17 January 2027, is included in the standard timed-entry ticket. The branded-bus day trip from London takes 7.5 hours and costs from $122.

How Far Ahead Should You Book A Christmas Day Trip?

Book the studio products first, since both are flagged as likely to sell out and both carry free cancellation per the listing. The Stonehenge circuit also carries free cancellation and has plentiful departures. The Cotswolds Christmas trip states no cancellation terms, so book it once your dates are firm, and always check the live listing before paying.