Boxing Day In London: What Is Open, Transport And Things To Do

Boxing Day, Saturday 26 December 2026, is one of the strangest days in the London calendar: the tube runs a reduced service, most museums stay shut, the ice rinks and light trails are in full swing, and the sales crowds pour into the West End.

Festively decorated London street with lights above the pavement on a winter evening

Short answer

Boxing Day 2026 falls on Saturday 26 December. Expect a reduced Sunday-style TfL service, no Thames Clippers river boats, an open London Eye, closed major museums, and running Winter Wonderland, Kew light trail and ice rinks. No roster tour listing states Boxing Day operation, so check each live listing before booking.

Boxing Day 2026 lands on Saturday 26 December, and it is a day London handles oddly. The Christmas Day shutdown has lifted, but the city has not fully snapped back: transport runs a reduced Sunday-style pattern, the big museums mostly keep their 24 to 26 December closure window going one more day, while the paid Christmas attractions, the rinks, the light trails and Hyde Park Winter Wonderland, are all open and busy. The result is a day with a genuinely different shape from any other in the festive calendar, and one worth planning rather than improvising.

The date matters this year in a way it does not always. With 25 December a Friday and 26 December a Saturday, Boxing Day sits inside a long weekend, and the Sunday and Monday that follow give many visitors a four-day window in which the lights are up but the weekday commuter crowds are gone. That makes it one of the best sightseeing days of the season, provided you know which doors are open and which are not.

This guide walks through the verified picture for the 26th: the transport pattern, the openings and closures, what the tour listings do and do not say about running on the day, and how to build a Boxing Day that takes advantage of the city's half-awake state. Where a 2026 fact has not been published yet, this guide says so plainly rather than guessing.

What Actually Happens On Boxing Day In London?

Boxing Day is the day after Christmas, and in 2026 it falls on Saturday 26 December. London on that day sits between shutdown and normal service: the tube and buses run a reduced Sunday-style timetable, most major museums stay closed under their 24 to 26 December pattern, the Royal Parks are open and free, and the commercial Christmas attractions, including Winter Wonderland, operate as normal.

The name, incidentally, has nothing to do with sport, though the Premier League fixtures now fill the afternoon. The tradition is the Christmas "box", the gift once given to servants and tradespeople on the first weekday after Christmas. That heritage is mostly invisible now; what the visitor actually meets is a city of two speeds. The paid attractions run at full festive throttle, while public institutions move slowly or not at all.

Two things shape the day more than anything else. The first is transport: Boxing Day is one of the handful of days a year when the tube runs a reduced service and the Elizabeth line, in last year's pattern, did not run at all. The second is the sales. Oxford Street and the big department stores draw large post-Christmas crowds on 26 December.

For visitors, the sweet spot is to treat Boxing Day as an outdoor day. The lights are still on everywhere, the rinks are running, the parks are free to enter, and the things that are closed, the museums and galleries, are exactly the things you can save for the Monday. The sections below give the detail, attraction by attraction.

Is Transport Running On Boxing Day In London?

Yes, but reduced. The 2026 festive timetable has not been published yet, so the honest answer is last year's pattern: a reduced Sunday-style service on the Underground, buses and trams, no Elizabeth line, no Night Tube, and only limited Overground on some routes. Thames Clippers river boats did not run on Boxing Day last year, and taxis and private hire cars do operate. Check Transport for London's published timetable in December.

Red London bus on a busy street with festive lights above

The key point, and the one that catches visitors out, is that Boxing Day is not a normal Saturday. Even though 26 December 2026 is a Saturday, the festive engineering works and reduced staffing mean the service looks like a Sunday, with the closures that implies, and last year the Elizabeth line and Night Tube did not run at all. National rail ran only a limited set of routes in last year's pattern, mainly some airport services. Transport for London publishes its festive timetable in early December most years, and that publication is the moment to lock in your plans; treat everything here as the pattern rather than the promise.

The river is a separate question. Uber Boat by Thames Clippers did not run on Christmas Day or Boxing Day in its published service pattern, which removes one of the most scenic ways of moving along the river on the day. The sightseeing cruise operators that run Thames cruises in the roster are year-round products, and their listings do not state Boxing Day operation either way; if a river trip is part of your plan, the live listing for the specific date is the only reliable source.

Taxis, private hire and coaches are the workhorses of the day. National Express coaches ran on Christmas Day itself in the annual pattern, so Boxing Day is well covered, and taxis operate normally, at holiday tariffs. If you are staying outside the centre, a pre-booked car for the evening is often the calmest option, because the reduced tube service meets the sales crowds and the queues at central stations reflect that.

Transport Boxing Day pattern (last year, check TfL in December)
Underground Reduced Sunday-style service
Buses Reduced Sunday-style service
Elizabeth line No service in last year's pattern
Night Tube No service in last year's pattern
Overground Limited routes only
National rail Limited routes, some airport services
Thames Clippers No service on Boxing Day
Taxis and private hire Operating, holiday tariffs

One practical note on timing: with a Sunday-style service, first trains are later and last trains are earlier than a regular Saturday, and engineering closures can hit specific lines hard. If your Boxing Day plan involves an evening at the lights or a rink session that ends at 9pm or later, plan the return leg before you leave the hotel, not after.

If you want a Boxing Day evening built around the lights rather than around transport anxiety, the open-top bus option is worth a look. The "Open-Top Bus, Live Guide" Christmas lights tour runs at from $40 per person with a rating of 4.1 from 531 reviews, and the listing offers free cancellation, though it does not state its Boxing Day operation, so check the live listing for the date. Our companion piece on where to see the London Christmas lights maps the streets themselves if you would rather walk.

The trio above spans the three main ways people cover the lights: an open-top bus with a live guide, a year-round afternoon tea cruise on the Thames that runs through the Christmas season, and a small-group walking tour with an official guide. All three are bookable products with free cancellation per their listings; none states Boxing Day dates, so treat the live listing as the source of truth for the 26th.

What Is Open And Closed On Boxing Day 2026?

The London Eye is open on Boxing Day. The major museums, the British Museum, the V&A, the Science Museum, the Tate galleries, the National Gallery and the Tower Bridge Exhibition, follow a 24 to 26 December closure pattern, so most stay shut on the 26th. The Royal Parks are open and free, Winter Wonderland is open, Christmas at Kew runs on selected dates, and the Somerset House and Hampton Court rinks are open.

Winter market chalets and a ferris wheel lit up at dusk in a London park

The open list is stronger than visitors expect. Winter Wonderland in Hyde Park runs 19 November 2026 to 3 January 2027 and is closed on Christmas Day only, so 26 December is a full operating day, with entry at Off-Peak GBP 1.00, Standard GBP 5.50, Peak GBP 8.25, booking fee included, and rides, attractions and the rink costing extra. The London Eye is open on Boxing Day per its usual annual pattern. The Royal Parks, including Hyde Park and Regent's Park, are open and free every day of the year, which makes them the default free option of the day.

The closed list is dominated by the museums. The 24 to 26 December closure window that covers the British Museum, the V&A, the Science Museum, the Tate galleries, the National Gallery, Tower Bridge Exhibition and the Churchill War Rooms is the standard pattern, and the Natural History Museum states its closure as 24 to 26 December explicitly. Westminster Abbey and St Paul's Cathedral hold Christmas services rather than sightseeing over the festive days. The Warner Bros. Studio Tour is closed on 25 and 26 December 2026, which matters for Harry Potter plans: the studio's Hogwarts in the Snow season runs 14 November 2026 to 17 January 2027, but the 26th is one of its two closed days, so shift studio plans to the 27th or later.

Attraction Boxing Day 2026
London Eye Open
Winter Wonderland, Hyde Park Open, timed entry
Christmas at Kew Selected dates, closed 25 Dec only in its run
Somerset House ice rink Open, season runs to 10 Jan 2027
Hampton Court Palace ice rink Open, closed Christmas Day only
Royal Parks Open, free
Warner Bros. Studio Tour Closed 25 and 26 Dec
Major museums (British Museum, V&A, Science Museum, Tate, National Gallery) Closed under the 24 to 26 Dec pattern
Westminster Abbey and St Paul's Cathedral Services, not sightseeing

Two footnotes to that table. Christmas at Kew runs on selected dates from 13 November 2026 to 3 January 2027, closed on 25 December, so Boxing Day can be a Kew day if it falls on one of the trail's operating dates; the trail's date list on the Kew site is the check. And the Somerset House rink's season runs to 10 January 2027, the longest of the major rinks, so a Boxing Day skate there is safely inside the season.

The studio closure is the single most common Boxing Day planning mistake among families. The two roster studio products, the "Harry Potter Studio, Branded Bus" tour at from $122 per person with a rating of 4.7 from 20,108 reviews, and the "Studio Tour Plus Thames Cruise" at from $112 per person with a rating of 4.8 from 995 reviews, are year-round products that run through the Christmas season; both are subject to the studio's 25 and 26 December closure, and neither listing states that the snow-season extras are included in the booking. If Hogwarts in the Snow is the goal, book from 27 December onward. Our Hogwarts in the Snow guide covers that season in detail.

The box above is the lights bus again, deliberately: on a day when the tube is reduced and the museums are shut, a guided drive past the lit streets is one of the least logistics-heavy evenings available. The listing shows free cancellation, and the live listing shows which dates in the festive window it runs.

Do Christmas Tours Run On Boxing Day?

No tour listing in this site's roster states that it operates on 26 December, so the honest answer is: check the live listing for the specific date before booking. The Christmas lights bus and walking tours run across the November to early January window in general, and the year-round products, the tea bus, the tea cruise and the studio tours, run through the season, but none of the listings commits to Boxing Day.

Guided walking group gathered on a lit city street in the early evening

This is worth spelling out, because the general runs in the Christmas period framing on many listings is easy to over-read. The operator pages behind the lights bus tours describe seasons running from mid-November to early January, and the roster's own products carry the same shape: the "Live Guide, 1.5-Hour Ride" Christmas lights bus tour, from $33 per person with a rating of 4 from 5,439 reviews, is a Christmas-themed listing with free cancellation, but its card does not name 26 December. The same is true of the walking products, the "Markets Walk, Mulled Wine Included" tour, from $61 per person with a rating of 5 from 72 reviews, and the "Small-Group Walk, Official Guide" tour, from $61 per person with a rating of 4.9 from 29 reviews. More of these guides are collected on Christmas In London.

The pattern across operator pages is that 24, 25 and 31 December are the days most often excluded from festive tour calendars, with 26 December sometimes running and sometimes not depending on the operator. That is a pattern, not a fact about any specific listing, which is why the advice here is uniform: open the live listing, pick your date, and see whether 26 December appears as a bookable option. Free cancellation on most of these listings makes that a low-risk check.

The tier B products deserve a separate word, because they behave differently. The "1960s Routemaster Tea Bus", from $94 per person with a rating of 4.4 from 2,121 reviews, and the "Afternoon Tea Cruise, 1.5 Hours" on the Thames, from $53 per person with a rating of 4.4 from 3,938 reviews, are year-round products that run through the Christmas season rather than Christmas tours. Year-round products are generally the more likely to run on the 26th, since their calendars are not built around a festive season, but again, the listing for the date is the only confirmation. The tea cruise's listing notes it is likely to sell out, which is a reason to book ahead rather than turn up on spec.

Roster product Type From price (USD) Rating and reviews Boxing Day stated?
Live Guide, 1.5-Hour Ride Christmas lights bus $33 4 from 5,439 reviews Not stated
Open-Top Bus, Live Guide Christmas lights bus $40 4.1 from 531 reviews Not stated
Markets Walk, Mulled Wine Included Lights and markets walk $61 5 from 72 reviews Not stated
Small-Group Walk, Official Guide Lights walk $61 4.9 from 29 reviews Not stated
1960s Routemaster Tea Bus Year-round tea bus $94 4.4 from 2,121 reviews Not stated
Afternoon Tea Cruise, 1.5 Hours Year-round tea cruise $53 4.4 from 3,938 reviews Not stated

Cancellation terms matter on a day like this. Most of the Christmas-themed listings carry free cancellation, which means a Boxing Day booking made early in December can be adjusted once TfL publishes its festive timetable and you know your transport reality. The Routemaster tea bus states no cancellation terms on its card, so treat it as a firmer commitment.

The mulled-wine markets walk is the one we would check first for the 26th, because its format, lights and markets with a mulled wine included, matches the day's mood exactly, and its 1 hour 30 minute length leaves the evening free.

The Routemaster tea bus is the family-friendly fallback: a 1 hour 25 minute seated tour of the sights with afternoon tea served on board, running as a year-round product through the season. Its listing states no cancellation terms, so book it only once your Boxing Day shape is settled.

Which Markets, Rinks And Light Trails Are Open On The 26th?

Winter Wonderland is open on Boxing Day with timed entry. Christmas at Kew runs on selected dates and is closed only on 25 December within its season, so check the trail's date list. The Somerset House rink, 11 November to 10 January, and the Hampton Court Palace rink, 20 November to 3 January, are both open on the 26th. The Southbank Centre Winter Market is open on 26 December but closed on 31 December.

Outdoor ice rink with a lit Christmas tree beside a floodlit historic building

Winter Wonderland is the biggest single Boxing Day attraction in the city. It runs 19 November 2026 to 3 January 2027, closed on Christmas Day only, so the 26th is a normal operating day, and with the museums shut it is one of the busiest of the season. Entry must be pre-booked for a specific date and a one-hour arrival slot, at Off-Peak GBP 1.00, Standard GBP 5.50, Peak GBP 8.25, booking fee included; rides, attractions and the ice rink cost extra, and the rink's 45-minute sessions carry their own advance prices. The 26th is unlikely to be an off-peak slot, so budget on the standard or peak entry band. Our Winter Wonderland tickets guide covers the whole pricing structure.

The rinks are the other reliable Boxing Day staple. Somerset House runs its season to 10 January 2027, with adult tickets at GBP 13 to GBP 28.50 and child tickets at GBP 11 to GBP 15 plus a GBP 1.50 per-ticket fee, and courtyard entry is free for non-skaters, which makes it a good split for a group where not everyone skates. Hampton Court Palace's rink runs 20 November 2026 to 3 January 2027, closed on Christmas Day only; the rink's dates are verified, and its listing carries the session times rather than a price we can print here. The Natural History Museum rink, a long-standing fixture, has closed permanently and has no 2026 season, so strike it from any older list you have seen.

Christmas at Kew is the evening option. The trail runs selected dates from 13 November 2026 to 3 January 2027, closed on 25 December, with adult tickets at GBP 29.50 off-peak and GBP 37 peak, child tickets at GBP 20 and GBP 24, and a family of four at GBP 89 and GBP 108. The trail is about 3km and takes most visitors a couple of hours at walking pace, with last entry between 7pm and 8pm depending on the gate. Whether the 26th is an operating date is on Kew's own date list; if it is, it is one of the best evenings of the season for it, since the gardens sit on the District line, which in last year's Boxing Day pattern ran a Sunday-style service.

Attraction Season dates Boxing Day status Price notes
Winter Wonderland 19 Nov 2026 to 3 Jan 2027 Open Entry GBP 1.00 to GBP 8.25 by slot, extras separate
Christmas at Kew Selected dates, 13 Nov 2026 to 3 Jan 2027 Check date list, closed 25 Dec only Adult GBP 29.50 to GBP 37
Somerset House rink 11 Nov 2026 to 10 Jan 2027 Open Adult GBP 13 to GBP 28.50 plus fee
Hampton Court Palace rink 20 Nov 2026 to 3 Jan 2027 Open, closed Christmas Day Dates verified, check listing for prices
Southbank Centre Winter Market 2 Nov 2026 to 4 Jan 2027 Open Free to walk in
Natural History Museum rink Closed permanently Closed No 2026 season

The Southbank Centre Winter Market is the free, no-booking fallback that ties a Boxing Day together nicely: it is open on the 26th, free to walk in, running 11am to 10pm with craft traders until 9pm, and it sits right on the river within walking distance of the London Eye, which is open. A Southbank wander, an Eye trip and a rink session at Somerset House a short walk away is a complete Boxing Day that requires almost no advance planning beyond the Eye ticket.

What About The Boxing Day Sales And Shopping?

The post-Christmas sales draw big crowds to Oxford Street, Regent Street and the department stores on 26 December. No 2026 sale dates or discounts are published this far ahead, so treat the sales as a crowd pattern, not a promise.

What is not published: any retailer's 2026 Boxing Day discount schedule. Sales start dates, discount depths and whether specific stores open on the 26th are retailer decisions announced close to the day.

Crowded shopping street with festive light displays above the shops

What can be said from pattern is crowd shape. The sales peak in the middle of the day, so a shopper arriving at opening time does noticeably better than one arriving at 2pm. If you are combining sales shopping with sightseeing, shop first, sightsee after lunch, and use the reduced-service tube sparingly around the Oxford Circus area, where station crowds are the day's worst.

For visitors whose interest in the sales is mild, the smarter Boxing Day move is to invert the day: take the morning at a rink or the parks while the shoppers are indoors, and move to the lights after dark, when the shops are emptying and the streets are at their best. The lights are on every evening through the season, with Regent Street's display running to 5 January 2027, so the 26th gets the full effect.

How Should You Plan A Boxing Day In London?

Plan the 26th as an outdoor, ticketed day and save the museums for the Monday. Book Winter Wonderland or a rink slot in advance, buy London Eye tickets ahead, expect a Sunday-style tube service with no Elizabeth line, avoid river boats, and treat the evening as a lights evening, either on foot or on a guided bus or walk if the live listing shows the date running.

The planning sequence we would use, in order. First, wait for the TfL festive timetable in early December if your plans depend on specific lines, and in the meantime hold the pattern in mind: Sunday-style service, no Elizabeth line, limited Overground, no river boats. Second, book the one or two timed things you definitely want, Winter Wonderland's arrival slot, a rink session, an Eye time slot, because the 26th is a high-demand day for exactly those attractions. Third, leave the evening flexible: the lights are free and everywhere, so an unplanned lights walk is the best fallback in the city.

For the evening, the decision is between doing it yourself and taking a guided product. Doing it yourself costs nothing and the Christmas lights bus tour guide maps the main lit streets, Regent Street, Carnaby, Covent Garden and the rest, if you want the route. A guided product adds commentary and warmth, and the roster's options range from the $33 "Live Guide, 1.5-Hour Ride" bus to the $61 small-group walks; the trade-off on the 26th is simply whether the live listing shows the date, which is a two-minute check.

Chart of Boxing Day openings and closures across London attractions and transport
Boxing Day 2026: what runs, what is reduced and what stays closed, at a glance.

A sample day that fits the verified openings: morning at Winter Wonderland or a rink session, lunch around Southbank with a wander through the free Winter Market, an afternoon at the London Eye, and an evening lights walk from Regent Street down through Carnaby to Covent Garden, whose "Theatre of Christmas" display of over 300,000 lights runs from its 12 November switch-on through the season. It uses no museum, no river boat and no Elizabeth line, which is precisely the point.

Families should note the Santa caveat: most grottos finish on 24 December, so Boxing Day is past the Santa window, but the theatre season is in full swing and the pantomimes run well into January. Our family Christmas days out guide covers what survives the 25th, and our Christmas Day in London guide covers the day before, which is a harder planning problem than the 26th.

If the evening ends early enough, the lights bus is the lowest-effort option of all: seated, guided, warm, and over in 1.5 hours.

Whichever shape the day takes, the one rule that holds every Boxing Day is to book the timed things and improvise the rest. The city on 26 December rewards a loose plan attached to two or three firm bookings.

The trio above is the shortlist for the evening: the open-top lights bus with a live guide, the year-round Thames afternoon tea cruise, and the small-group lights walk with an official guide. Each carries free cancellation per its listing, and each needs a date check against the live listing for 26 December before you commit. For the fuller comparison across all the formats, our which London Christmas tour is right for you guide breaks the decision down by budget and group.

Common Questions About Boxing Day In London

Is The Tube Running On Boxing Day In London?

Yes, but reduced. Last year's pattern was a Sunday-style service on the Underground, buses and trams, with no Elizabeth line, no Night Tube and only limited Overground routes. The 2026 festive timetable is not yet published, so check Transport for London's December announcement before finalising plans.

What Is Open On Boxing Day In London?

The London Eye, Winter Wonderland, the Somerset House and Hampton Court Palace ice rinks, the Royal Parks, the Southbank Centre Winter Market and Christmas at Kew on its operating dates. Most major museums follow a 24 to 26 December closure pattern, and the Warner Bros. Studio Tour is closed on 25 and 26 December.

Do London Christmas Tours Run On Boxing Day?

No listing in this site's roster states Boxing Day operation, so the only reliable answer is the live listing for the specific date. The lights bus and walking tours run across the November to early January season in general, and the year-round products, like the tea bus and the Thames tea cruise, run through the season, but the 26th needs a date-by-date check.

Is Winter Wonderland Open On Boxing Day?

Yes. Winter Wonderland runs 19 November 2026 to 3 January 2027 and is closed on Christmas Day only, so 26 December is a full operating day. Entry must be pre-booked for a date and a one-hour arrival slot, at Off-Peak GBP 1.00, Standard GBP 5.50 or Peak GBP 8.25, booking fee included, with rides, attractions and the ice rink costing extra.

Are The Christmas Lights Still On After Christmas Day?

Yes. The major displays run well past the 25th: Regent Street's lights run to 5 January 2027, Covent Garden's "Theatre of Christmas" display runs from its 12 November switch-on through a seven-week season, and the bus and walking tour seasons generally run to early January. Boxing Day evening is one of the best lit evenings of the year.

Is Boxing Day A Good Day For Shopping In London?

It is one of the biggest shopping days of the festive period, with post-Christmas crowds on Oxford Street and at the department stores. No 2026 sale schedules are published this far ahead, so treat the sales as a crowd pattern: shop early, and expect the peak crowds from midday.